Okay, here’s the deal.

April 18, 2010 at 2:43 pm | Posted in Scott | 1 Comment

This is my first post to my and my wife’s new blog. As such, there are three pieces of serious business that this post must do. It has to explain who we are, what we are doing, and why we are doing it.

Who are we?

TV addicts, that’s who.

By the age of ten I could tell you that the first episode of Gilligan’s Island was in black and white, that MASH was much funnier before Colonel Blake died, and that in the first season of Knight Rider, K.I.T.T.’s voice was accompanied by a boring red light instead of a fancy graphic equalizer. My parents used to impress their friends by having me rattle off the prime time listings for all three broadcast networks for any night of the week from memory. In retrospect, I think they were misinterpreting looks of disgust on their friends’ faces for admiration. My wife is not quite as bad as I am, but we do have over sixty season passes on our TiVo, and we are not ashamed. We watch TV, but only good TV, and we watch the hell out of it.

What are we doing?

Canceling our cable, that’s what.

Our plan is to stop getting cable (here’s the tricky part) without it adversely affecting our TV-watching habits. If you’re like me, you’ve probably thought that the internet seems like it might be about ready to take over for cable, but you’re not sure. We intend to find out.

Why are we doing this?

We love TV, but we hate the cable TV industry. I will elaborate as to why in future posts, but I doubt we really have to. Most of you have dealt with those swine.

We are not the first people to try this. We’re not even the first people to blog about it. What makes our trip different is that we watch a tremendous amount of TV, and intend to keep doing so. This is not an attempt to wean ourselves off of TV, it’s just an attempt to stop paying our local cable company for it. In this blog we will tell you how we compensate for the lack of cable, and how well (or poorly) it works.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Scott and Missy, I’m about a week behind you in this journey. Wife and I are tired of paying $190/month for cable with three DVRs and internet. Roughly $140 a month to sit on my ass and zone out every night. So the cable is going to be cut, much to the chagrin of my daughters, ages 9 and 13. There were actually tears when we told them.

    Took the first step today and bought an antenna. Cheap and works great. Next up will be a Netflix subscription with a disk to enable streaming to the Wii. Then the hard part, which you address in your latest post, easy and simple streaming to the three TVs plus replacing the DVR function.

    Look forward to sharing experiences with someone else on the same adventure.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

