Cable: Canceled

April 24, 2010 at 9:37 am | Posted in Missy | Leave a comment

Yesterday, we unplugged the cable from the TiVo. This morning, I called Bright House to cancel the service.

But before I told them about canceling, I wanted to find out why our bill had gone up recently. Because back in September of 2009, I’d called and we’d been put on a package deal — $79.99 for cable TV and internet. The one catch was that in order to get a package deal, you need to have a cable company DVR (and let me tell you, the Explorer 8300 isn’t fit to clean the TiVo’s shoes). So the cable rep added in a fake DVR and charged us $6 per month for it, in order to get the $40 savings of a package deal.

Clearly, it was too good to last. Despite being promised the package price for 24 months, the cable company went into our account, said, “Oh my stars and garters, they’re paying for a cable box they don’t actually possess,” and proceeded to remove the cable box (which THEY had added to begin with) from our account and charge us the higher, non-package rates.

I actually ended up talking to two reps at Bright House this time; the first one didn’t outright accuse me of trying to game their system, but his tone wasn’t pleasant. He then put me on hold for 20 minutes, so I just called back and got another guy. The second guy told me the deal, and he agreed with me when I said, “So it sounds like we never should have been given the package deal in the first place, and we should be happy that we got it for three months.”

All in all, I love the fact that we have everything except one piece of equipment, but we need to have that one piece of equipment in order to get any kind of discount.

So I told second guy to cancel the TV portion of our service. We’re still going to get internet through the cable, because the Road Runner cable service via Bright House is the best deal of those available to us. Here’s what we can get in our area:

Road Runner / $48 / Up to 10 Mbps
Road Runner / $63 / Up to 20 Mbps
AT&T U-Verse / $48* / Up to 12 Mbps
AT&T U-Verse / $58* / Up to 18 Mbps
* AT&T charges a one-time setup fee of $149.
CenturyLink / $50 / Up to 5 Mbps
CenturyLink / $55 / Up to 10 Mbps

So AT&T is a slightly better deal as far as dollars-to-speed, but the setup fee makes me want to kick them in the junk. At any rate, it’s nice to know they’re there as a fallback, in case Bright House messes with us.

Weirdly, the Bright House rep who canceled our TV service didn’t argue it at all. He didn’t offer any discounts or even ask why we were canceling the bulk of our services with them. I was fully expecting to have them put up a fight, or scramble to keep our TV business. But all I got was an “I’ll take care of that” and a request to set up a technician visit to pick up our equipment. Which I declined, because I can easily take a tuning adapter and two cableCARDs to their office instead of having to wait at my house for the tail end of a 4-hour appointment window. Nice try at one last inconvenience, Bright House, but I don’t think so.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

